Sign up for a ROOTS group

With a generous grant from the Combined Jewish Philanthropies, the following three groups will meet this spring:

Secondary Infertility Group

Spiritual Advisor: Rabbi Julie Bressler

This group will begin at 8 PM EST:

  • Thursday, March 26
  • Thursday, May 7
  • Tuesday, June 9
  • Wednesday, June 24

Primary Infertility Group

Spiritual Advisor: Rabbi Cherina Eisenberg

This group will begin at 7 pm EST:

  • Thursday, April 16
  • Thursday, April 30
  • Thursday, May 14
  • Thursday, May 28
  • Thursday, June 11

Miscarriage Group

Spiritual Advisor: Dalia Davis

This group will begin at 8 pm EST:

  • Sunday, April 12
  • Sunday, April 26
  • Sunday, May 10
  • Sunday, May 24
  • Sunday, June 14
  • Sunday, June 28

Who leads The ROOTS?

A Spiritual Advisor will guide participants through experiential learning that aims to ease the pain people feel when moving through Jewish and secular holidays without the children they so deeply desire.

Who can participate in The ROOTS?

All persons–Jews, Jewishly curious persons, and Jewishly-connected partners–are welcome at ROOTS programs.*

These struggles may derive from:

  • Pregnancy loss
  • Miscarriage
  • Infertility
  • Secondary infertility
  • Non-traditional family building and any other challenges that you may be facing on your journey toward growing your family.

Holidays in our spring’s program cycle include:

  • Passover
  • Mother’s Day
  • Father’s Day
  • Shabbat

Sign up for a ROOTS group:

There are no fees to register. To learn more or for any questions, please contact Rachel Spekman, Boston Program Director of the ROOTS, at Rspekman@weareuprooted.org.

These organizations are Uprooted’s creative and funding partners. We thank them for sponsoring the ROOTS groups.

*Uprooted: A Jewish Response to Fertility Journeys is a pluralistic organization. We define ‘Jewish,’ ‘man,’ ‘woman,’ and ‘fertility journeys’ broadly and inclusively to accord with our values:

  • ‘Jewish’ describes all Jews and Jewishly-curious persons or partners who self-affiliate with Judaism, Jewish values, Jewish culture, Jewish history, or Jewish peoplehood. 
  • ‘Men’ indicates cisgender men, trans men, and all persons who self-identify with the term ‘man.’
  • ‘Women’ indicates cisgender women, trans women, and all persons who self-identify with the term ‘woman.’
  • A ‘fertility journey’ is the summative, psychophysical and social experience of growing a family. For some, a fertility journey is never-ending–it is formative to their lifelong decision making, attitudes, and self-image.